Incarnation : The Avatars/Incarnations that Hindu Religion Has Belief On


Many are familiar with the 10 incarnations in Sanatan Dharma. Siddhartha Gautama (Gautam Buddha) is also identified as the ninth of the 10 incarnations. It seems to have linked not only Hindu deities but also Buddhist deities to incarnation. But in Vedic literature, nine types of incarnations are discussed.

The word ‘Avatar’ is derived from the suffix ‘H’ in the prefix ‘Av’. The word incarnation can be heard in the sense of coming down, appearing or having a new vision. When an omnipotent element descends from the world above and assumes a body in human or other vaginas, that element is known as an incarnation.



According to Srimad-Bhagavatam Purana, in what condition is a new incarnation born?

– Inauguration of a new religion in a new world

– It is believed that Vishnu adopts the concept of such an incarnation as he is the status quo of the universe.

– To increase people’s faith in religion after the increase of sin

Differences found in avatars

Three incarnations of Vishnu

1.Full incarnation

This describes the art form. Rama and Krishna are full incarnations.


Anshavatar contains various attributes of God. In it, all immovable and movable matter is part of God. Since all the characters in the Mahabharata originate from a part of one or another deity, they are part of the form of God. But this is only part of the reason for not worshiping.


Under this form, Parashuram incarnation is considered. After this, Kalavatar is described. According to the unit of time, Lord Yugavatar, Manvantaravatar, Kalpavatar are worn. Finally, Lilavatar is also mentioned. The Bhagavata Purana considers Lilavatar to be the best.

Hindu Culture

Read Also

Discuss the number of Avatars

The Rig Veda describes the incarnations of Vamana and Varaha.

– Even in Yajurveda there is a description of Vamana and Varaha. The Atharva Veda only describes the Varaha incarnation. Which is related to the earth.

There are descriptions of two incarnations of Varaha and Vamana in Taitteriya Brahman Aitareya Brahman is only described as a dwarf incarnation. Varaha, Vamana, Kurma and Nrusinha are mentioned in the Taitteriya Aranyaka.

– The number of avatars is innumerable and it is difficult to calculate. Vedic literature has analyzed only five incarnations, namely Matsya, Kurma, Baraha, Nrusinha and Bam.


– In Ramayana, apart from Rama, only Parashuram, Kurma and Varaha are mentioned. In Varaha, Skandha, Garuna etc. Puranas, the number of incarnations is considered to be 10.

– Bhagavata Purana describes in detail the twenty-four incarnations of God. The Buddha is counted in the Puranas under the Ten Incarnations. The Mahabharata does not mention anything about the Buddha. Only one verse of the Shantiparva mentions the Buddha.

According to the Mahabharata, the main incarnation and its work

– In Matsyavatara, God protects the seed of problem creation in the apocalypse as well as the Vedas.

-In Kurmavatar, the Lord wears Mandarachal on his back in the churning of the sea by the deity to obtain nectar.

– In Varaha incarnation, they serve the teeth and save the whole earth including the mountains. This is how the Hiranyaksha monster is killed.

– As a lion, the whole world is killed by Hiranyakashipu and other problem monsters.

– Through Vamanavatar, God binds the sacrifice with love and measures the whole Trilok by three pegs.

– In the incarnation of Parashuram, God circled the earth 21 times and killed the wicked.

Hindu Culture

-Pultasyanandan killed Ravana as Lord Ramavatar.

– God killed the demons in the form of Balaram, who always wears plow, pestle, and blue clothes.

– In the incarnation of Krishna, who holds conch, wheel, bow, pitambar and forest garland, God killed the demons like Kansha, Putna, Arishta etc.

-Final incarnation Kalki is going to happen in the future. It is believed that after the advent of Kali Yuga, Lord Krishna established the religion on horseback and killed the Mlechchas.

Apart from this, various secondary incarnations are also mentioned in the Mahabharata. Vyas, Kapil, Hayagriva, Dattatreya, Sanatkumar, Narnarayan, Hari and Mohini are the secondary incarnations mentioned in the Mahabharata.

Bhutanese Refugees : Story Of Hope From Bhutanese